Wk 5 – Art Experience – Graffiti

September 25, 2016; Los Angeles, CA

20160925_204524986_ios

This week, our art project was to write our name in “bubble” letters using at least two different colored cans of spray paint. I like graffiti, however, I’ve never handled a can of spray paint before. I was a little wary going into this project.

I conducted this art project on Sunday, an excruciatingly hot day. I picked up two cans of spray paint at Lowe’s and set up my work station. I did not have an open wall, so I put down paper on a table and worked on top of that.

20160925_213248923_ios
Bubz the Cat feeling sluggish in the hot LA weather

 

20160925_205015459_ios
A hot, Los Angeles Sunday
20160925_204959517_ios
My set-up for this art activity

Overall, I liked this experience. The spray cans were hard to handle. It was difficult for me to know what distance I should hold the cans away from the paper at. The black can of spray paint gave me a hard time because the nozzle was difficult to press down and when I did, it would shoot out too much paint. I did enjoy this activity, though. It was fun and made me realize how talented some artists are because spray painting is really, really hard.

FINAL RESULT

20160925_213047235_ios

Leave a Reply

