Wk 6 – Art Experience – Zines

During this week’s art activity, we were given the choice between making a flip book or making a zine. I chose to attempt to make a zine.

I’ve never made a zine before and didn’t really know what it was at first. I later found out that a zine can be anything you want it to be, as long as its a magazine of some sort. It can be a collection of pictures, old flyers, poems, or drawings, and can be of any length.

My experience of making a zine was fun and I enjoyed it. I liked the freedom of it. I liked that it could be of anything. I think that this opened up a lot of possibilities because the creativity you can apply to making zines is endless. When I started making my zine in class, the thing that was on my mind was programming because being a computer science student, I’ve been doing a lot of that. Recently, I’ve found a character called “Hackerman” from a Swedish movie called “Kung Fury” that I’ve never even seen. I don’t know why I’m fascinated with this character. Maybe it’s his ability to “hack time”, his Nintendo Power Glove, or his mullet, but I just find him funny and it has kind of become my “thing” recently. For some reason, I even made it my name on Snapchat. I just like the whole aesthetic of the thing. I like the whole programming in the 80’s, everything is really old fashioned, outdated, bulky, and cheesy type of thing. Because of this, my zine was influenced by Hackerman and 80’s/90’s computer graphics. The whole thing is ugly and cheesy, but that is exactly why I like it! During the actual process of making my zine, I took  a lot of pictures from the internet and edited them. Some I added text, quotes, made collages, added a border, etc. I made them with the intent of printing them out and then sewing them, however, I do not have a color printer. I attached the actual images so they can be seen in all their glory. Note: the pages are meant to be creased/sewn down the middle.

The result:

Cover Page
Page 1-2
Page 3-4
Page 5-6

Also, I found an artist during my research named Troy Ford that made art similar to what I liked: http://thecreatorsproject.vice.com/en_uk/blog/futuristic-3D-love-virtual-art-museum-digital-age

 

Leave a Reply

